International open letter calls for moratorium on new coal mines

World renowned scientists and economists back Kiribati President’s call for No New Coal Mines in open letters published in Saturday’sGuardian UK and this month’s global edition of New Scientist magazine. 

Former NASA Goddard Institute Director Dr. James E. Hansen, Dr. David Suzuki, Nobel Laureate in economics Professor Kenneth Arrow, Professor Hans Joachim Schellnhuber, and Ian Dunlop have joined 52 scientists, economists and other experts in calling for a moratorium on new coal mines ahead of the Paris Climate Summit.

View the full page letter in the New Scientist here, and in the Guardian UK here or scroll down to see the names of signatories below.

Join the growing call for a global moratorium on new coal mines 
add your name to the petition



Dr James E. Hansen 
Former Director, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies; Adjunct Professor, Columbia University Earth Institute

Professor Hans Joachim Schellnhuber CBE
Founder and Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Co-Chair German Advisory Council on Global Change (WGBU)

Dr David Suzuki CC OBC
Scientist, environmentalist and broadcaster; Professor Emeritus, Zoology, University of British Columbia

Professor Kenneth Arrow 
Nobel Prize in Economics 1972; Joan Kenney Professor of Economics and Professor of Operations Research, Emeritus, Stanford University

Professor Peter Doherty AC   
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1996; Australian of the Year 1997; Laureate Professor, University of Melbourne

Professor Kristín Vala Ragnarsdóttir
Professor of Sustainability Science, Sæmundur frodi Institute for Sustainable Development, Institute of Earth Sciences, University of Iceland; Fellow, Icelandic Academy of Sciences; Honorary Fellow, Schumacher Institute, Bristol

Professor Paul R. Ehrlich 
Bing Professor of Population Studies, President of Center for Conservation Biology, Stanford University; Adjunct Professor, University of Technology, Sydney

Professor Jorgen Randers 
Climate strategy, BI Norwegian Business School; co-author The Limits to Growth

Professor Johan Rockström 
Water systems and Global Sustainability; Director Stockholm Resilience Centre; Professor, Environmental Science, Stockholm University

Professor Johan Kuylenstierna
Director, Stockholm Environment Institute; Adjunct Professor, Stockholm University

Emeritus Professor Harry Flam
Professor Emeritus, International Economy, Stockholm University

Professor Sirkka Heinonen
Finland Futures Research Centre, University of Turku

Ian Dunlop
Former Chair, Australian Coal Association; Former executive, Shell

William Becker
Member of Mikhail Gorbachev’s Climate Change Task Force; Executive Director of Presidential Climate Action Project

Dr Anders Wijkman
Co-President, The Club of Rome

Graeme Maxton 
Secretary General, The Club of Rome

Martin Lees 
Rector Emeritus, UN University for Peace, Costa Rica; former Secretary General, The Club of Rome, Founding member, China Council for International Cooperation on Environment and Development

Ben Oquist
Executive Director, The Australia Institute

Dr Richard Denniss
Chief Economist, The Australia Institute

Professor Hilary Bambrick
Chair of Population Health, Western Sydney University

Professor Ulf Bjereld
President of Social Democrats for Faith and Solidarity

Dr Jamie Pittock 
Associate Professor, Fenner School of Environment and Society, Director of International Programs; Australian National University

Dr Michael Finus 
Chair in Environmental Economics, University of Bath; IPCC Lead Author

John Todd PhD 
President, John Todd Ecological Design, Inc.

Ravi Rebbapragada
Chairperson, mines, minerals and PEOPLE (mm&P)

Ashok Shrimali
Secretary General, mines, minerals and PEOPLE (mm&P)

Professor Peter A. Victor PhD
Faculty of Environmental Studies, York University

Professor Tim Kasser PhD
Chair of Psychology, Knox College

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Manfred Max-Neef
Professor of Ecological Economics, Universidad Austral de Chile

Associate Professor Frank Jotzo 
Director, Centre for Climate Economics and Policy; Deputy Director, Crawford School, Australian National University

Kirsty Albion
Director, Australian Youth Climate Coalition

Amelia Telford
National Director, Seed Indigenous Youth Climate Network

Dr Wolfgang Sachs 
Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, Berlin

Dr David Morawetz 
Economist; Founder and Director, Social Justice Fund

Dr Donna Green 
Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales

Dr Rosemary Stanton OAM
Public Health Nutritionist

Howard Covington 
Vice chairman, ClientEarth

Professor Jonathan Isham Jr.
Department of Economics, Director of Environmental Studies, Middlebury College; Director, Centre for Social Entrepreneurship

Professor Michael Jacobs 
Visiting Professor, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, London School of Economics and Political Science

Mary Evelyn Tucker
Co-founder, Forum on Religion and Ecology, Yale University

Professor Peter Singer AC
Ira W. DeCamp Professor of Bioethics, Princeton University

Adam Koniuszewski 
Executive Director of Green Cross International

Professor Claudia Kemfert 
Energy Economics and Sustainability, Hertie School of Governance; Head of Department, Energy, Transportation, Environment, German Institute of Economic Research (DIW Berlin)

Professor Rob Moodie AM 
Public Health, University of Melbourne

Professor Robert Costanza 
Chair in Public Policy, Crawford School, Australian National University

Dr Andrew Glikson 
Earth and Paleo-climate Science, Australian National University

Professor Katherine Richardson 
Professor, Biological Oceanography, Center for Macroecology, Evolution and Climate, The Danish Natural History Museum; Leader of the Sustainability Science Centre, University of Copenhagen

Professor Rick Cavicchioli 
Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, University of New South Wales

Professor Will Steffen 
Adjunct Professor, Australian National University; Councillor, Climate Council; Honorary Professor, Copenhagen University; Visiting Researcher, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Professor John Quiggin
Economics, ARC Federation Fellow, University of Queensland

Professor Lesley Hughes 
Distinguished Professor of Biology, Macquarie University; IPCC Lead Author; Councillor, Climate Council

Professor Clive Hamilton 
Public Ethics, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics; Vice-Chancellor’s Chair, Charles Sturt University

Emeritus Professor Mark L Wahlqvist AO
Medicine, Monash University; Former Head of Medicine at Prince Henry’s Hospital

Emeritus Professor Bruce Armstrong
Public Health, University of Sydney; Chairman, Bureau of Health Information

Professor Colin Butler 
Public Health, University of Canberra; co-founder BODHI Australia

Professor Rufus Clarke FRACS FAFPHM
Public Health, University of Sydney

Dr Peter Macreadie
ARC Fellow, Plant Function Biology and Climate Change, University of Technology, Sydney

Mathis Wackernagel PhD 
President, Global Footprint Network

Wes Jackson
Co-founder and President, The Land Institute

Frances Moore Lappé 
Co-founder Small Planet Institute, Cambridge, Massachusetts