Where each country stands on No New Coal Mines

On 13 August 2015, in the lead up to Paris COP21, President of the Republic of Kiribati, His Excellency Anote Tong wrote a letter calling on world leaders to lend their support in calling for a global moratorium on new coal mines, as an essential initial step in our collective efforts on global action against climate change.

President Tong's call for #nonewcoalmines has drawn support from prominent thinkers and economists, such as Lord Nicholas Stern and Naomi Klein, and organisations such as Doctors for the Environment, the Australian Youth Climate Coalition and SEED.

But which countries have responded to President Tong's letter? Which world leaders support a global moratorium on new coal mines?

We'll be tracking countries' responses on the table below.

 Country  Responded to President Tong?  Supporting Moratorium?
 Kiribati  ---  Yes
 Australia  Yes  No
 Cook Islands  Yes  Yes
 Fiji  Yes  Yes
 Marshall Islands  Yes  Yes
 Federated States of Micronesia  Yes  Yes
 Nauru  Yes  Yes
 Palau  Yes  Yes
 Solomon Islands  Yes  Yes
 Timor Leste  TBC  Yes
 Tokelau  Yes  Yes
 Tonga  Yes  Yes
 Tuvalu  Yes  Yes


Now its your turn: have you backed the call for #nonewcoalmines?