Open Letter to World Leaders

Open Letter in the Sydney Morning Herald

Numerous prominent Australians -- including authors, activists, athletes, scientists, and public health professionals -- have joined together to sign an open letter urging French President Hollande and World Leaders to put coal exports on the agenda at the 2015 Paris COP21 climate summit, and to help the world's governments negotiate a global moratorium on new coal mines.

View the full page letter here, or scroll down to see the names of signatories below.

Join the growing call for a global moratorium on new coal mines
> add your name to the petition

Signatories --

Prof Peter Doherty AC   
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1996; Australian of the Year 1997; Laureate Professor, Melb Uni

Prof Fiona Stanley AC FAA
Distinguished Research Professor,  School of Paediatrics and Child Health; Australian of the Year 2003

Dr Charles Watson AM MBBS MD FAFPHM DSc 
John Curtin Distinguished Professor of Health Sciences, Curtin University

Prof Kingsley Faulkner AM Cit.WA MBBS FRACS
School of Medicine, Fremantle, UNDA; Past President RACS

Prof Tim Flannery
Councillor, Climate Council; Australian of the Year 2007; Sustainability, Melbourne University

Prof Lesley Hughes        
Councillor, Climate Council; Ecologist, Macquarie University; IPCC Lead Author

Prof Will Steffen              
Councillor, Climate Council; Climate Scientist, ANU

Prof Carmen Lawrence 
Former Federal Minister, Premier WA, Federal President ALP; Psychology, UWA

John Cain
Former Premier Victoria; Professorial Fellow, Politics, Melbourne University

Bernie Fraser     
Governor, Reserve Bank of Australia 1989-96; Founding Chair, Climate Change Authority

Prof John Quiggin           
Economist, ARC Federation Fellow, UQ

Prof Clive Hamilton         
Public Ethics, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics, CSU

Prof David Karoly             
Climate scientist, Melbourne University

Prof Simon Chapman AO FASSA HonFFPH (UK) 
Public Health, University of Sydney

Assoc Prof Tilman Ruff AM FRACP          
Global Health, Melb; Co-President, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (Nobel Peace Prize, 1985)

Dr Peter Tait      
Senior Adjunct Lecturer, Medical School, ANU; RACGP GP of the Year 2007

Assoc Prof Shauna Murray          
ARC Future Fellow, Plant Functional Biology and Climate Change, UTS

Prof Rob Moodie AM    
Public Health, Melbourne University

Emeritus Prof Mark L Wahlqvist AO    
Medicine, Monash University; Former Head of Medicine at Prince Henry’s Hospital

Prof Colin Butler              
Public Health, UC; Co-founder BODHI Australia

Prof Shilu Tong      
Public Health, QUT

Prof Hilary Bambrick      
Chair of Population Health, WSU

Dr Peter Macreadie        
ARC Fellow, Plant Function Biology and Climate Change, Deakin University

Dr Andrew Glikson          
Climate Science, ANU

Emeritus Prof Bruce Armstrong             
USYD; Chairman, Bureau of Health Information

Adj Prof Frank Talbot AM     
Marine Scientist; Director Emeritus, US National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Inst

Dr David Morawetz         
Psychologist; Founder and Director, Social Justice Fund

Adj Prof David A Hood AM HonFIEAust CPEng   
Former President, Engineers Australia; Engineering, QUT

Emeritus Prof Robert Manne 
Politics, Vice Chancellor’s Fellow, La Trobe University

Prof Robert Costanza
Economist; Chair in Public Policy, Crawford School, ANU

David Pocock    
Australian Wallaby rugby union player, Captain 2012

Prof Richard Flanagan
Author, Man Booker Prize, Prime Minister’s Prize; Chair of Australian Literature, Melbourne Unviersity

J.M. Coetzee
Author, Nobel Prize in Literature 2003

Hilary McPhee AO          
Author; Former Chair, Australia Council; Senior Fellow, Melbourne University

Adam Spencer 
Mathematician; Media personality and comedian

MC, Producer and vocalist

Drusilla Modjeska
Award winning author

Richard Piper

Rod Mullinar

Stuart McMillian              
President of the Uniting Church of Australia

Bishop George Browning             
9th Bishop of Canberra and Goulburn; Inaugural Convener Anglican Communion Environment Network

Thea Ormerod 
President of Australian Religious Response to Climate Change (ARRCC)

Rabbi Jonathan Keren-Black  
Environmental Advisor, Council of Progressive Rabbis

Julian Robertson             
Presiding Clerk, Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) in Australia

Prof Neil Ormerod          
Professor of Theology, ACU

Rt Rev Prof Stephen Pickard      
Executive Director, Australian Centre for Christianity and Culture, CSU

Prof Nihal Agar 
Chair of the Hindu Council of Australia

Rev Dr Patrick McInerney             
Director Columban Mission Institute, Sydney

Mrs Anne Lanyon            
Co-ordinator Columban Centre for Peace, Ecology and Justice, Sydney

Amelia Telford 
National Director, Seed Indigenous Youth Climate Network

Kirsty Albion      
National Director, Australian Youth Climate Coalition

Paul Oosting     
National Director, GetUp!

Lyndon Schneiders
National Campaign Director, The Wilderness Society

Geoff Cousins AO
President, Australian Conservation Foundation; Businessman

Kelly O’Shanassy             
CEO, Australian Conservation Foundation

Ben Oquist         
Executive Director, The Australia Institute

David Ritter       
Chief Executive Officer, Greenpeace Australia Pacific

Cam Walker
Campaigns Co-ordinator, Friends of the Earth Australia

Dr Bob Brown         
Environmentalist; Former Leader of the Australian Greens

Ian Dunlop         
Former Chair, Australian Coal Association; Former Executive, Shell

Emeritus Prof Bob Douglas AO             
Director, Australia21

Jeannie Rea
National President, National Tertiary Education Union

Join the growing call for a global moratorium on new coal mines 
add your name to the petition